Poppins Curriculum

Poppins Active Learning School utilises a British curriculum based on the British Early Learning Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and Poppins original educational approach. Adapting Japanese Standards to incorporate child brain science and social development, creating individual educare.

The EYFS is a comprehensive framework that sets the standards for learning, development, and care for children ages six years and below. The EYFS framework supports the following seven areas of learning:

Communication and language (to develop skills and confidence to express one's thoughts in words), Physical development (to promote the development of motor skills and understand the relationship between health and food), Personal, social and emotional development Respect the ideas of others and others, and learn appropriate behavior in society) / Literacy (learn the basics of letters and literacy), Mathematics (learn the basics of numbers, calculations, shapes, spaces and measurements) ), Understanding the world (interesting and observing things in the world), Expressive arts and design (expressing your thoughts using materials around you)

Our active learning programmes (Physical Development, Lifesaving, Language, Maths, Science, Art, and Music) are aligned to the EYFS and taught by specialists in each field. In addition, we also have daily Self-Discovery Time that includes off-campus activities and projects. We offer a good balance of programmes every week and also guide children to explore outside every day.

In our programmes, children learn proactively through play.

Visualisation of the Learning Process

写真:人種・年齢の異なる女の子二人が笑っているThis learning process was documented under the supervision of Dr. Benjamin Mardel, a member of Harvard University’s Infant Education Research Team (now a Lesley University Professor).
In order to gain diverse perspectives of Educare ※1, the team shared their research with parents, teachers and even children themselves. The documentation was called the “Reggio Emilia Approach” and featured in Newsweek Magazine in 1991. It became widespread in Europe as an innovative infant and early childhood educational approach.

Growth Mind Set

写真:教室To help children, our teachers practice “Growth Mindset” ※2, a term advocated by Stanford University psychology professor Carol S. Dweck. Rather than focus on results and ability, we recognise the process of learning itself through praise and encouragement to motivate children even when they become discouraged.

※1 Educare=education + care

※2 The idea that by making an effort people can expand their special characteristics. On the contrary, a “Fixed Mindset” is when a person hides failures and inadequacies.